Thursday, January 28, 2016

Book Review and GIVEAWAY: Appealed, by Emma Chase {ends 2/4}

She jerks away and sets her glass on the coffee table. Then she backs up a step - putting space between us. "I'm not doing this again with you, Brent. You're not sucking me back in."

My jaw tightens. "Okay. How about you explain what that means?"

"How about you go f--k yourself with a lacrosse stick?"

Hello, Square One - long time, no see. 

This is the third book in Emma Chase's The Legal Briefs series, and I reviewed the second book, Sustained, last August. The novels are all standalone novels, even though some of the characters repeat from book to book; ie, Jake, the male main character from Sustained, makes a few appearances in this one.

Official synopsis:
When Brent Mason looks at Kennedy Randolph, he doesn’t see the awkward, sweet girl who grew up next door. He sees a self-assured, stunning woman … who wants to crush the most intimate - and prized - parts of his anatomy beneath the heels of her Christian Louboutins.

Brent has never let the loss of his leg in a childhood accident affect his ability to lead a fulfilling life. He sets high goals–and then he reaches them.

And now he has his sights set on Kennedy.
**
When Kennedy looks at Brent Mason, all she sees is the selfish, Abercrombie & Fitch catalogue-worthy teenager who humiliated her in high school to join the popular crowd. A crowd that made those years a living hell.

She’s not a lovesick social outcast anymore - she’s a DC prosecutor with a long winning streak behind her. Brent is the opposing attorney in her next case and she thinks it’s time to put him through a little hell of his own.

But things aren’t exactly working out that way.

Because every fiery exchange has her wondering if he’s as passionate in the bedroom as he is in the courtroom. Each argument and objection only makes him want her more. In the end, Brent and Kennedy may just find themselves in love…or in contempt of court.

APPEALED is a sexy, humorous romance about first crushes, second chances and the final verdict of the heart.

Sunday, January 24, 2016

GIVEAWAY: Movie Night Trivia, by Robb Pearlman {ends 1/31}

Movie Night Trivia will be in stores and on Amazon on February 2nd, but you can win yourself a copy here first!

As you may or may not know, I also run a movie blog, so this book definitely caught my attention, especially with the Oscars and SAG Awards coming up soon.

About the book:
Cider Mill Press is pleased to release Movie Night Trivia in time for the live broadcast of The Oscars awards ceremony. Movie goers and trivia buffs can prepare for the most glamorous event of the year with this fun trivia book, featuring over 400 questions, as well as full-color movie posters and shots of iconic movie moments throughout to make the evening a true cinematic experience.

From the cinematic classics to recent releases, animated and action, there is something for every member of the family or friend group. This will make the perfect addition to an Oscar Night party or binge-watching all the nominated films. Keep score or let the answers fly! Take home the golden statuette for trivia, and thank 
Movie Night Trivia in your acceptance speech!

Packed with hundreds of questions, fun facts, and bonus lightning rounds, this book is the first of its kind. Featuring an introduction from popular YouTuber Tina Alexander (“How It Should Have Ended”) and compiled by bestselling author Robb Pearlman, 
Movie Night Trivia is sure to impress film fanatics for years to come. 

Monday, January 18, 2016

Quick Pick: The Conspiracy of Us, by Maggie Hall

  • Opening lines: The piece of paper could have been anything.

    The spotlight behind me flashed acid green, then pink, then went dark. The pink still seared my retinas, lending a rosy glow to the folded page clenched in my fist.

    I stared at it for a few seconds, then reopened it.

    The six-inch square had just dropped out of Jack Bishop's bag.
  • Reason I picked up the book: I received it to review, actually a long time ago (Jan. 2015) and it sounded good. I'm now finally getting around to reviewing it :).
  • And what's this book about?
  • A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter

    Avery West's newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

    To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family--but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she's falling in love with.

  • Recommended for: Anyone who likes a YA book that combines mystery with history.
  • Something to know: The book ends on a cliffhanger and the second novel, Map of Fates, is out March 8th. There will be a third book too, according to Goodreads, that will be published in 2017.
  • What I would have changed: Sometimes I found myself struggling to get through the book because the author throws a lot of (some made up, some not) history at us. It's hard to keep all the names and people straight, too. That being said, I am still interested in reading Map of Fates and actually just requested an ARC of it. 
  • Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars.
  • Where can I find this book? Click here to purchase.
*Disclosure: I received a copy of this book for reviewing purposes. The opinions expressed here, however, are my own.

Monday, January 11, 2016

Quick Pick: Dangerous Lies, by Becca Fitzpatrick

  • Opening lines: An angry rap shook the motel room door. I lay perfectly still on the mattress, my skin hot and clammy. Beside me, Reed drew my body to his.

    So much for ten minutes, I thought.

    I tried not to cry as i nestled my face into the warm curve of Reed's neck. My mind absorbed every detail, carefully retaining this moment so I could play it back for a long, long time after they took me away.
  • Reason I picked up the book: I received it to review and it sounded interesting.
  • And what's this book about?
  • A teen is forced to make a fresh start after witnessing a violent crime—but love and danger find her anyway in this novel from Becca Fitzpatrick, the New York Times bestselling author of the Hush, Hush saga.

    Stella Gordon is not her real name. Thunder Basin, Nebraska, is not her real home. This is not her real life.

    After witnessing a lethal crime, Stella Gordon is sent to the middle of nowhere for her own safety before she testifies against the man she saw kill her mother’s drug dealer.

    But Stella was about to start her senior year with the boyfriend she loves. How can she be pulled away from the only life she knows and expected to start a new one in Nebraska? Stella chafes at her protection and is rude to everyone she meets. She’s not planning on staying long, so why be friendly? Then she meets Chet Falconer and it becomes harder to keep her guard up, even as her guilt about having to lie to him grows.

    As Stella starts to feel safer, the real threat to her life increases—because her enemies are actually closer than she thinks…
  • Recommended for: Anyone who likes a good mystery or a good YA book. There's a slight twist at the end, too.
  • Something to know: Becca Fitzpatrick is also the author of Black Ice, which I reviewed in March 2015.
  • What I would have changed: I just realized that we never really found out of the fate of Stella's former boyfriend (from the opening lines), although she did find out something about him that was surprising.
  • Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars.
  • Where can I find this book? Click here to purchase.
*Disclosure: I received a copy of this book for reviewing purposes. The opinions expressed here, however, are my own.

Wednesday, January 6, 2016

Book Review and GIVEAWAY: Mastered, by Maya Banks {ends 1/13}

She might not have much, but she'd always known who she was and where she stood. Now Drake threatened everything. She was so shaken by what had transpired, and perhaps she'd been too caught up in the whole Cinderella fairy tale that she hadn't truly comprehended the magnitude of what she'd agreed to.

Or perhaps she'd known exactly what she was getting into and that secret part of herself that had reveled in Drake's authority had asserted itself and reached out for something she'd been missing, an essential part of herself that would have been denied. She could resist and risk being unfulfilled, thus returning to her ordinary, predictable life. Or she could embrace the unknown but tantalizing life Drake was offering her and perhaps discover who she truly was and what the real Evangeline wanted.

Meet the new Mr. Grey: Drake Donovan. I've reviewed books by Maya Banks before, and they're always full of sexy scenes, with a good story to boot; however, this one was very similar to Fifty Shades of Grey, with Drake's profession being a little more sketchy than Christian's.

Official synopsis:
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Breathless Trilogy comes the first novel in the Enforcers series—a bold new direction in erotic romance that explores the games men and women play, and the price they’re willing to pay for pleasure.

What he wants, he takes with no remorse or guilt.

She stood out in his club like a gem, unspoiled and untouched. A lamb among wolves, she clearly didn’t belong. Drawn to her innocence he watched as she was surrounded by men who saw what he did—but no one but him could touch her. He summoned her to his private quarters. He sensed her fear. He also recognized the desire in her eyes. And he knew she wouldn’t leave before he possessed her. She had no need to know his secrets. Not until he had her under his complete and utter control.

What he wants, she isn’t sure she can give him.

The moment he told her want he wanted, she couldn’t resist. Instinct told her to run, but her heart said stay and walk the fine line between pleasure and pain. Though she wasn’t sure she could ever completely surrender, the primal part of her wanted to try, even knowing this man could break her in ways she never imagined. Because once he possessed her, he owned her and it would be too late to turn back. She can only pray that he doesn’t destroy her in the end.

Coming May 2016: The Enforcers Book II: Dominated.

Sunday, January 3, 2016

Year in Review: The Best and Worst Books of 2015


2015 is now gone and done, and although I didn't read as many books as I wanted to (57, according to Goodreads), I still managed to read and publish a good amount of reviews this year.

Here's the list sorted by rating and also alphabetical order, as well as an Amazon link if you're thinking of purchasing/reading any books.

* = guest review