Friday, May 22, 2015

Book Review: Sophomore Year is Greek to Me, by Meredith Zeitlin

Review by: Jackie Vore

Official synopsis:
A laugh-out-loud high school adventure set in Greece, perfect for fans of Meg Cabot

High school sophomore Zona Lowell has lived in New York City her whole life, and plans to follow in the footsteps of her renowned-journalist father. But when he announces they’re moving to Athens for six months so he can work on an important new story, she's devastated— he must have an ulterior motive. See, when Zona's mother married an American, her huge Greek family cut off contact. But Zona never knew her mom, and now she’s supposed to uproot her entire life and meet possibly hostile relatives on their turf? Thanks... but no thanks.

In the vein of
Anna and the French Kiss, Zona navigates a series of hilarious escapades, eye-opening revelations, and unexpected reunions in a foreign country—all while documenting the trip through one-of-a-kind commentary.

Sophomore Year is Greek to Me is the follow up book to Freshman Year and Other Unnatural Disasters, but if you have not read the Freshman Year book, you can easily pick this book up and not feel lost at all.

This story is all about Zona Lowell and her father punishing her by moving her to Greece for six months to live there and be closer to her mother’s family. And let me tell you, the beginning of the story was a bit hard for me to read through. I feel like she just kept whining about moving and would not stop until she was finally on the plane and heading to Greece.

When Zona arrived in Greece, I almost had an instant feeling that I was there with her – walking the streets, seeing the sights and trying to speak English to someone that only knows Greek. At several points in the story, I found myself laughing out loud at some of the things that happened to Zona and her friends while they were out on the town. I would not classify this book as "funny," per se, but there were definitely some funny happenings.

As my final comment on the book, I would like to leave you with this quote from the book: "Money is like water, you understand? It flows...one person who needs it to another. There is always more money, from somewhere. There is not always more family."

3.5 out of 5 stars.
{Click here to purchase this book}

*Disclosure: I received a copy of this book for reviewing purposes. The opinions expressed here, however, are my own.

About the reviewer:

Jackie Vore has been blogging for just over three years. Her passions are crafts, blogging, reading and watching television. Find her writings at her blog, Run With Jackabee.

0 comments:

Post a Comment

About

Welcome to Books I Think You Should Read, which focuses on book reviews, author interviews, giveaways, and more.

Follow by Email

2017 Reading Challenge

Elizabeth has read 2 books toward her goal of 70 books.
hide

Blog Archive