Friday, September 6, 2019

Book Review: No Judgments, by Meg Cabot

Guest review by: Becki Bayley

The closer I got to the shore, the more difficult the roads leading to it became to navigate. What was normally a fifteen-minute scooter ride took over an hour, because I kept having to back down a street once I’d started up it, due to fallen trees or power lines I couldn’t get by, even on a motorbike.

But one thing I did not encounter were any hostile predators, despite Ed’s predictions. In fact, I met the opposite. Thoughtful locals who lived in the area had already generously marked places where electric lines were down or hanging low, tying brightly colored bandannas or even plastic bags around the wires so anyone passing by wouldn’t run over or into them.

I have enjoyed every Meg Cabot book I’ve read, so I was excited to get a jump on this one. It was even more amusing when the hurricane-watch news from the book was matching up with my Facebook feed from friends in Florida! Yikes!

Official synopsis:
Book Review: No Judgments, by Meg Cabot
The storm of the century is about to hit Little Bridge Island, Florida—and it’s sending waves crashing through Sabrina “Bree” Beckham’s love life…

When a massive hurricane severs all power and cell service to Little Bridge Island—as well as its connection to the mainland—twenty-five-year-old Bree Beckham isn’t worried . . . at first. She’s already escaped one storm—her emotionally abusive ex—so a hurricane seems like it will be a piece of cake.

But animal-loving Bree does become alarmed when she realizes how many islanders have been cut off from their beloved pets. Now it’s up to her to save as many of Little Bridge’s cats and dogs as she can . . . but to do so, she’s going to need help—help she has no choice but to accept from her boss’s sexy nephew, Drew Hartwell, the Mermaid Café’s most notorious heartbreaker.

But when Bree starts falling for Drew, just as Little Bridge’s power is restored and her penitent ex shows up, she has to ask herself if her island fling was only a result of the stormy weather, or if it could last during clear skies too.


No Judgments (the first book in the new Little Bridge Island series) was a fun read, even if I considered it a bit predictable. Introduce girl, show "bad boy" whom she doesn’t want to be interested in – think that’ll be her love interest? Ding, ding, ding! Luckily I usually read for pure entertainment, not to try and outsmart anyone and see who can guess the ending first.

Without spoiling anything, there were a few character quirks, and at least one complete character, who surprised me a little with their appearance in the story. I’m glad this is the first book in a series so hopefully we can find out more about these unexpected developments. I also enjoyed the descriptions of life on the island, including their homes and the type of people who lived there.

Overall, I’d give this one 3 out of 5 stars. Nothing I had to think too much about, but a pleasant read for a few hours of entertainment. I’d never turn down a chance to read a book by Meg Cabot, with her chatty, engaging writing style.

{click here to pre-order - it will be in stores and online on September 24, 2019.}

Becki Bayley has no history of exciting island romances, but likes to read and pretend they could have been a thing. Her real life is lazily chronicled at SweetlyBSquared.com.

Wednesday, September 4, 2019

GIVEAWAY: Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe, by Heather Webber {ends 9/11}

I haven't yet read Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe yet, but it sounds like my type of book. One of my lucky readers will win a hardcover copy!

About the novel:
GIVEAWAY: Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe, by Heather Webber {ends 9/11}
Though she has been award-nominated for her mysteries, Heather Webber now turns to something quite unique with her latest novel: MIDNIGHT AT THE BLACKBIRD CAFÉ (Forge Hardcover; On-sale: July 16, 2019). It's a captivating blend of magical realism, heartwarming romance, and small-town Southern charm, perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen. So pull up a comfortable chair, enjoy some tasty pie, and get ready to immerse yourself in the world of MIDNIGHT AT THE BLACKBIRD CAFÉ.

This beautifully told tale takes us to a small town in Alabama, where a young woman returns after the death of her beloved grandmother, who owned the titular Blackbird Cafe. Anna Kate soon finds herself inexplicably drawn to the quirky Southern town her mother ran away from so many years ago, and the mysterious blackbird pie everybody can’t stop talking about.

As the truth about her past slowly becomes clear, Anna Kate will need to decide if this lone blackbird will finally be able to take her broken wings and fly. 


Click here to purchase this book.

GIVEAWAY:

Enter to win via the widget below. Giveaway will end on Wednesday, September 11th, at 11:59pm EST, and winner will be chosen and notified via email the next day, and have 24 hours to respond, or an alternate winner will be chosen.

U.S. residents only, please.

Good luck!

Hardcover copy of Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe, by Heather Webber

About

Welcome to Books I Think You Should Read, which focuses on book reviews, author interviews, giveaways, and more.

Follow by Email

2019 Reading Challenge

2019 Reading Challenge
Elizabeth has read 0 books toward her goal of 50 books.
hide

Blog Archive