Thursday, January 12, 2017

Quick Pick: The Most Dangerous Place on Earth, by Lindsey Lee Johnson

Book Review: The Most Dangerous Place on Earth, by Lindsey Lee Johnson
  • Opening lines: Cally Broderick lingered in the doorway of the resource office, waiting to be noticed. 
  • Reason I picked up the book: I like books about high school / high schoolers, and I had downloaded the book off NetGalley.
  • And what's this book about?
  • A captivating debut novel for readers of Celeste Ng's Everything I Never Told You and Curtis Sittenfeld's PrepThe Most Dangerous Place on Earth unleashes an unforgettable cast of characters into a realm known for its cruelty and peril: the American high school.

    In an idyllic community of wealthy California families, new teacher Molly Nicoll becomes intrigued by the hidden lives of her privileged students. Unknown to Molly, a middle school tragedy in which they were all complicit continues to reverberate for “her” kids: Nick, the brilliant scam artist; Emma, the gifted dancer and party girl; Dave, the B student who strives to meet his parents' expectations; Calista, the hippie outcast who hides her intelligence for reasons of her own. Theirs is a world in which every action may become public—postable, shareable, indelible. With the rare talent that transforms teenage dramas into compelling and urgent fiction, Lindsey Lee Johnson makes vivid a modern adolescence lived in the gleam of the virtual, but rich with the sorrow, passion, and beauty of life in any time, and at any age.
  • Recommended for: Anyone who likes books revolving around school-aged kids or books where the main characters have secrets.
  • Something to know: This book reminded me of the movie Men, Women, and Children, regarding online bullying and how things can quickly spiral out of control once it starts. 
  • What I would have changed: I really liked the beginning of the book, but then it changes to involve lots of different characters and their stories - while it was interesting to read about everyone, I was more invested in some characters over others. 
  • Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars.
  • Where can I find this book? Click here to order on Amazon - it just released on January 10th.

    *Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from NetGalley for reviewing purposes. The opinions expressed here, however, are my own.

No comments:

Post a Comment